I hate being late!!!

Not sure why, but I hate to be late for anything. I’d much rather drive around a block/neighborhood 10 times because I’m early rather than be late. My wife knows this, my kids know this, my in-laws know this … even my relatives know this and I hardly see them. And if I’m late because of other people I hate it even more! I would rather not go to a movie if we are going to be late. I’d rather miss the fireworks than get there after they start.

My wife has the tendency to always be late. It’s a matter of time management. She needs to manage her time better. Example: A couple weeks ago we are supposed to be at a cookout at noon. We will be eating at 12:30. So the latest we should be there, in my book is 12:15 but noon is when we were told to arrive. Let’s do the math. We need to be there at noon. It takes 20 minutes to get there (like I’ve said before, we are 20 minutes from anywhere). We need to leave the house by 11:40. It takes WIFE 50 minutes to get ready. She needs to start that process by 10:50. It never works out that way … ever! In this instance WIFE was up at 9:45, she ate breakfast, started a load of laundry, watched a spot of TV, move clothes from the washer to the drier, then at 11:00 started getting ready.

We were ready to leave at 11:40 … but she informs me we need to stop at her mom and dad’s on the way (but it’s not on the way) to drop off something to her mom. Should only take a minute to run something in and leave. I park in the drive and wait … 8 minutes later she comes back out. I’m looking at the clock in the car and we are to be at the cookout in 12 minutes. OK .. we’ll be 8 minutes late. I can work with that. I start driving and then was informed we need to take soda … for everyone. We need to stop on the way. That took 14 minutes. We are now 22 minutes behind schedule. Needless to say we didn’t get there until 12:28 … I HATE BEING LATE!

Church starts at 9am and at 10:45. Every week we are late to the second service. I’ve stopped going because I hate being late. I just need to drive separate. I prefer the 9am service anyway.

This morning I was late to work. My own fault. I overslept. I took a sleep-aid tablet and it knocked me out. I remember my alarm going off. I remember hitting snooze once. I don’t remember shutting it off. I have to be at work by 6am. I need to be on the road by 5:40. I woke up at 5:37 because I had to pee … Well I began the mad dash to get ready. Dangit all I need to shave. Didn’t do it yesterday because I didn’t go to church. Crap Monday is trash day and I have 2 barrels to roll down to the curb because one is full of trash from the pool liner. Ugh! The recycle bin is in the garage … raise the door back up … get in the car and hit the road at 6:06. I got to work at 6:20. I broke a few speed limits on the way here. Dang it, I forgot today is “fridge clean out day” at work. It’s my job … and I’ll tell you why another day. It’s gott be done before other people get in. For some reason people get made when you throw away their old food … That’s another story! I HATE BEING LATE!

1 Comment

Filed under Journal

One response to “I hate being late!!!

  1. My wife is similar to you. She is like she is because her dad was always a HUGE procrastinator when she was young…and he still is. I guess she didn’t want to turn out like him.
    She always has to be, at least, 30 minutes early for everything. I don’t know how many times we’ve sat forever in a doctor’s office or another appointment simply because she had to be an hour early.
    Me on the other hand… I’m never late either but I’m more of a…get there no sooner than ten minutes early. Five is even better… heh heh

  2. well, i’m not one for showing up toooo early. ๐Ÿ™‚ but 15 miuntes is a nice buffer. you never know what might come up! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

