I think I can! I think I can!

1135283-lg.jpgI am ready to get back into photography again. I’ve put my cameras down for about a year and not really done much. But this time I want to do it my way. I have everything I need except a darkroom and the chemicals. I only want to do black and white photos. Don’t get me wrong, I like color as well. But processing color at home is rather expensive (when Wal-Mart or Kroger and process and print doubles for $4 a roll) and .. well .. I’ve never done it. I’ve done black and white. There is something about composing a photo, taking that photo, processing the film and printing the print. I may not have gotten exactly what I wanted on the negative, but when you process the print you can manipulate what shows up. You barely notice WIFE on the negative in this picture. But after processing I was able to bring out her image. She is seated on the bench in the distance blowing a bubble. I didn’t even know she was there! This is one of those treasures you didn’t know was there.

974271-lg.jpgSometimes I find the treasure and try to capture it. I think I did in this photo. It’s of a tree stump that was used as a fence post. But if you look at it long enough you will see what I saw. I thought it odd to see it, but from what I understand we (humans that is) try to force what we see to be recognizable. That’s why we see shapes in clouds … we are trying to make sense out of what we take in. It prevents sensory overload.

So over the next few weeks I am going to be putting together my darkroom. Buying my chemicals and refitting the equipment to use the newly remodeled bathroom. I guess it’s been longer than a year. I remodeled the bathroom Feb. 2005 and I stopped using it as my darkroom before that. I’ve taken photos here and there and had them processed by a local lab and worked with them to have things printed. But now I want to take back that creative process.

I know I can! I know I can!

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

