Putting the brakes on Back To School

Yesterday was my daughters’ first day back to school. My oldest is a freshman this year, and my youngest is in 5th grade. All of a sudden I feel old ….

It went well for both of them. Oldest was a bit apprehensive about it. (When she got home she said it wasn’t as bad as she thought it would be.) My youngest loves school. It’s a social thing for her. I took yesterday off to celebrate with WIFE. After we got the kids off we went for breakfast at the Cracker Barrel. We had to celebrate somehow … 🙂

After that we went to my in-laws’. I had some work to do there. Brakes …

Back around the first week of July I replaced the brake pads on my father-in-law’s truck. Shortly after that they started making a pulsing noise whenever the brakes were applied. I had taken it for a drive and noticed it mostly on the passenger side. So I pulled off the tire and checked the rotor. The outside was totally smooth. The inside was pitted and had scars in 3 spots. And they were BAD!! I’ve never swapped a rotor on a 2003 Ford Ranger. It took a while to figure out exactly how to do it. Once I got it pulled we called Autozone and a few other places. There are like 6 possible rotors for that year Ranger. We were able to narrow it down to 2. We ended up just taking it to Advanced Auto and matched it up there. Got back and put everything back together. Drove it and there was still a slight noise. Nothing like the noise it was making. But it was still there and this time you could tell it was on the driver side. Pulled that tire and rotor and sure enough it was doing the same exact thing, pitting and scarring. Just not as bad. We went back to Advanced and picked up another rotor. Replaced it. Got it all back together. Drove it. Brakes sounded great (meaning no noise at all)! My father-in-law was thrilled!

So while I was into it … I had the tools out and was already greasy and dirty. I got the Honda brakes done as well. I had picked up pads for the Honda a few days earlier and they had been sitting in the car. Besides, it’s nice to have a helper get you the tools you need and to have conversation with to pass the time. The rotors on the Honda were perfect. There were no pits, grooves or scars. I was able to reuse them. But I will watch them for the next month or so.

I’ve come to the conclusion that I can put new rotors and pads on as cheap as I can take the car to Midas or Speedy or the dealer. And I have all new parts. I don’t have to wait 2 hours for my car. And by doing it myself it’s done right.

With all the brakes being done … I had to go home and get cleaned up. WIFE and I went home. You know what? It’s nice to have someone wash your back. 🙂 And to spend some quiet time with.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

