What ever happened to …

The Golden Rule – Not the one that states “He who has the gold rules”. I’m talking about the Golden Rule my grandma used to drill me on. You know the one – “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.” Didn’t your mom or grandma ask you about that? Maybe it a thing for us Protected Class citizens (the 40 and over crowd). I just wonder what grandma would think of people today …

… Chivalry – I’m not talking the Knightly parts, the parts about decency towards others. The following is a short list:

  • Live one’s life so that it is worthy of respect and honor.
  • Live for freedom, justice and all that is good.
  • Avoid lying to your fellow man.
  • Avoid cheating.
  • Avoid torture.
  • Exhibit self control.
  • Show respect to authority.
  • Respect women.
  • Never abandon a friend, ally, or noble cause.
  • Always keep one’s word of honor.
  • Always maintain one’s principles.
  • Never betray a confidence or comrade.
  • Avoid deception.
  • Respect life and freedom.
  • Exhibit manners.
  • Be polite and attentive.
  • Be respectful of host, women, and honor.

Hmm … should we be able to sum these up in say, maybe … I don’t know …the Ten Commandments?

Quisp and Quake cereals – I loved that stuff!!

… Playing outdoors – We had a rule growing up. You play outside unless it’s raining or so friggin cold you would die if you breathed the air. And even then mom would make sure you had two (2) scarfs wrapped around your neck and over you mouth and nose.

Tinkertoys and Lincoln Logs – I used to build things for hours using both sets. Not sure what ever happened to them. I think mom kept them somewhere thinking she’d have grandkids running around and would entertain them with my old toys. She never really got to do that.

Newspaper Drives – My elementary school and middle schools used to hold newspaper drives. So did my Cub Scout and Boy Scout troops. I remember the first time I saw a Playboy magazine was at a paper drive for my middle school. We made a wall of newspapers in brown paper bags and one at a time we would sneak back behind it and look at the pictures. We found about six … enough for everyone to have one to sneak home … but we didn’t have anything to sneak them home in. After that we always volunteered to work the newspaper drives.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

