Weekend is almost over

Saturday was a bit rough with the on-call stuff. I was tired and worn out. I took a chance and met a really good friend of mine for breakfast at The Cracker Barrell up on Wilmington Pike at 7:30. We meet just about every Saturday unless something comes up. We really enjoy that time together. Got back home about 9:40. Things were fairly quiet until I got a page around 11am.

Decided that since I’m pretty much stuck around the house I was going to close the pool. Phil, my on-call partner, took over from 1pm until midnight for me. It was WIFE’s birthday and I wanted to take her out for a dinner with no kids or family. I wasn’t sure when her party would be so I made these arrangements about a month ago. We had the big family bash on Sept. 30th. This meant I had time to close the pool. I started in at 1pm and had the pool closed out by 3:30. I still need to break down the pump and winterize it. But that’s something I can do later. I was running low on time. I had dinner reservations for WIFE and I for 6:15pm. This was supposed to be a more intimate thing. Just the two of us. And it was. We went to the Chop House. Had a great time. Aterwards we did a bit of shopping to get supplies for DAUGHTER-1’s science project and came home. I was so stinking tired I practically fell asleep on the couch. I slept all night. I woke up at 8am thinking “I must have slept through my pages!” Checked the pager and nothing. Went downstair and made my coffee (I hate the single serve coffee pod machine). Got paged at 8:38. It’s been a rather calm day and I am enjoying it.

Now I just need to help DAUGHTER-2 bake cookies for Girl Scouts.

2 Comments

Filed under Journal

2 responses to “Weekend is almost over

  1. Glad to hear you had a good time with Julie and got some sleep. 🙂

  2. Yeah that sleep thing was odd. I rarely sleep that well. Maybe it was the relaxing evening, the good food and good company. It’s been months since we’ve really have a true date. We usually get Saturday evening free thanks to the in-laws, but usually we catch up on TV shows and eat burgers or pizza. This was dress up, go out, eat, talk and enjoy each other. It was great!

Leave a Reply

