March 20, 2007

One of the things I wanted to do this year was start down the road of debt free living. I have paid off 3 bills to date. No, I don’t have more money in my pocket. I’m spending less. I’m saving no more than I was before I started. I just have 3 less bills every month. The money from those bills now goes to paying off other bills. If all goes as planned this year I will pay off 3 more bills and be that much closer to being debt free.

One thing that has been helpful in avoiding the credit card debt trap is opening a Christmas club or Santa saver account with my credit union. I put $65 a pay period in the account. That gives me just about $1500 for Christmas. No credit cards!

I’ve been selling off “schtuff” on ebay and using the funds from that to buy “schtuff” online. I opened a PayPal account and have their credit card tied to my PayPal balance. That makes it fairly safe to use online. If the account is ever stolen they can only spend whats in the account. And right now that is less than $10. 🙂

I’ll get there. It’s just a matter of time. It’s like loosing weight. It didn’t show up over night. they both built up gradually. And that’s how it will disappear, gradually at first and then accelerate towards the end. Both the weight and the debt that is. I just have to stick to it! I’m almost there with the weight loss. Debt loss is not far behind. 😀

1 Comment

Filed under Journal

One response to “March 20, 2007

  1. Alicia

    The paypal credit card is an excellent idea, thanks!

Leave a Reply

