sigh …

I have been sleeping very well lately. It seems like as soon as my head touches the pillow I’m out. And morning is here before I know it. I could probably sleep in but I have to be up and at work by 6am.

I’m not complaining. I get to leave work between 2:30 and 3pm. And I that leaves me with plenty of daytime to get things done around the house or run errands.

Yesterday and today I’ve just wanted to sleep. This morning was a struggle to get up. The rain was falling outside, the windows were open, there was a gentle breeze moving through the room, I’m tucked in under the covers up to my nose – all snug and warm. Wife is tucked in right behind me all snuggled up as well and Shadow is down at the foot of the bed between our legs. And I know all is well and it’s peaceful, quiet and warm. I listen to the rain for a little while. Soon I start to hear the world waking up outside my windows. A car passes by and a little while later my neighbor’s diesel truck roars to life as he heads into work. Jeff leaves every morning at 5am. That’s when I realize I’ve been drifting in and out of sleep for 30 minutes. When Jeff’s truck starts and I’m still in bed I know I’ve overslept. I get up from the bed and discover how cold 51° is … and think about getting back under the covers. But I know I am running late so I pick up the clothes I laid out the night before and head to the bathroom to get ready for the day.

And here it is 1pm and I am thinking of how warm and comforting the bed seems … and thinking that maybe I should just take tomorrow off and sleep in. Hence the sigh … to be back in time, back in bed, snuggled up with wife and the pup, listening to the rain and drifting in and out of sleep.

1 Comment

Filed under How To

One response to “sigh …

  1. LaRonda Cheney

    We put our above ground pool liner in wrong side. What will it hurt except we see the seams

Leave a Reply

