Super foods …

I love researching new foods to add to my daily dietary intake. No I don’t diet. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I love to eat. But I will say this, I’m eating healthier. More veggies and fruits. Lower fat foods. Lower sodium foods. More foods I have to work to prepare at home instead of “add water, stir, microwave on high for 45 seconds, stir, micro for 30 and wait a minute to serve. More natural stuff. I’ve really cut back on my meats. Red meat in particular. One thing I’ve tried to do is add “super foods” to my intake. What are “super foods”? Foods that are rich in vitamins, minerals, fiber, omega fatty acids, etc … things that are good for you. Here’s my current super-foods list:

  • Beans
  • Blueberries
  • Broccoli
  • Oats
  • Oranges
  • Soy
  • Spinach
  • Tea (green or black)
  • Tomatoes
  • Turkey
  • Walnuts/Almonds/Flax & Sunflower Seeds
  • Yogurt

And now I want to add to that list the chia seed. Yep! The “ch ch ch chia” seed. The popular gift of Chia Pets, that are on TV around Christmas time, are actually good for you!  Salvia Hispanica L is the specific plant name. You can find tons of information on the brand name Salba®. I’m just now in the process of researching it. And from what I can tell it has a ton of nutrition packed in a small serving. 2 flat tablespoons (less than an ounce) contains over 2.4 g of Omega 3s, over 4.5 g of dietary fiber, with less than 0.5 net carbohydrates per serving. Gram per gram, Salba® contains 15x more magnesium than broccoli, 6x more calcium than whole milk, 3x more iron than spinach, 7x more vitamin C than an orange, 8x more Omega-3 than a serving of salmon and 2.5x the protein of kidney beans. Salba® has been certified as a Non-GMO and is all-natural, has no trans-fats and is gluten free.

Some history of Chia – For hundreds of years the tiny Chia seed was used as a staple food by the Indians of the south west and Mexico. It was know to them as “the running food”, it was used as a high energy, endurance food and its use has been recorded as far back as the ancient Aztecs. It was believed that the Aztec warriors survived on the Chia seed during the conquests. The Indians of the south west would eat as little as a teaspoon full when going on a 24hr. forced march. Indians running form the Colorado River to the California coast to trade turquoise for seashells would only bring the Chia seed for their nourishment as only a small amount was needed to sustain them for an entire day.

So .. I’m on a quest now for more info and local sources of Chia (or Salba). Amazon has several books on Chia … And there are tons of websites. I even found a store in Cincinnati, called Mother Earth, that carries Chia under the Salba® brand name. I’m making a trip to pick up a pound this week. I’ll let you know how to use it and how it tastes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

