“Mother Pussbucket”

Anyone remember Ghostbusters? Remember when Mr. Stay Puff Marshmallow Man steps on the church? Dr. Venkman (Bill Murray) yelled that out. And to this day I still love that phrase … It’s like cussing without cussing. I felt I needed to say it just to get off my chest the frustration I’m feeling.

Up until Thursday last week I was lifting weights 3x per week and running 6x. I was getting in about 28 miles a week. Thursday I developed a complication that is preventing me from doing any physical stuff. Actually I developed the condition on June 2nd. It just took until June 7th for me to admit there was a problem. I still don’t want to admit it. But I have to. It hurts too much.

I have a hernia. A recurrent right inguinal hernia. I had one in the same spot 22 years ago. Hence the recurring part. I got the first one on my job … this one I got moving a refrigerator. Well that may have started it. Then my weight lifting on Tuesday and Thursday and the running last week were the final “push” things needed to “bust loose”. I saw my shaman (doctor, healer .. whatever you will call him) and he confirmed the problem. And then he placed me on several restrictions … no running, no weight lifting, no jogging, no “extended” walking, no pushing or pulling and limit my sneezing. Limit my sneezing? Like I go out and sneeze on purpose because I enjoy it. I can apply pressure to the groin area while sneezing without pain. I tried it and I can walk on the treadmill without any pain (as long as I apply constant pressure to the groin area … yes tried it). But I shouldn’t.

I speak with the surgeon tomorrow.

So .. with still being on the weight loss quest, I’m having to seriously watch what I eat. I cannot diet. I just can’t do. My fear is a long recovery after the surgery with no running or lifting. And then I have to start all over …

2 Comments

Filed under Journal

2 responses to ““Mother Pussbucket”

  1. tom

    Dieting, might as well tell me to stop breathing…I find dieting the most difficult thing to do!

  2. Tell me about it! I’d rather sweat for 60 minutes on the treadmill than give up eating something I like. Now granted, I eat sensibly, but every once in a while Peanut Butter M&Ms are a must … along with Tootsie Rolls or a nice thick 10oz New York Strip … and a good beer …

Leave a Reply

