Feeling mucho bettero

I think yesterday was a turning point for me. As a whole, this past week has moved by relatively quickly. I can’t get over how much better I feel today compared with last Monday.

Last Thursday I worked from home. It helped having ice packs and pain meds. Friday I came in to the office (I think more to just get out of the house) and made it through the day with nothing for pain. But I needed it by the time I left work and i took a dose, went home and sat on the couch with my ice pack. Saturday I made it all day with nothing at all for pain and used the ice off and on all day. I still took a vicodin before bed. I woke up Sunday and was really uncomfortable and in pain. I thought I had over done it Saturday … you know, this is gonna sound gross but it’s true, as your body eliminates waste, the waste moves through your intestines. The intestines are behind the muscle wall I had repaired. And .. well .. as things move through that area I “feel” them. And that was the source of pain and discomfort. I visited the restroom, read an article in Men’s Fitness and looked through some of the ads, read a second article and let things move. Now I can officially call my restroom The Library. I felt sooooo much better. Needless to say it was a “relief”. Vicodin can cause things to “back up” and since I’m not needing it anymore, things are getting back to “regular”. And the discomfort level is way down.

I’ve gotten the OK from the surgeon to do upper body workouts when I felt up to it. Today I feel up to it. I think I’m going to go to the Y after work and do a set of upper body only weights. Nothing involving lower body for 4 weeks. No jogging or running for 4 weeks either, but walking is OK whenever I feel up to it. That was yesterday. 2 miles in 45 minutes. A really slow pace for me. That’s about the pace I had when I weighed 287. The difference is I now I’m not breaking a sweat at that pace. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

