Mending

I have to admit, my recovery is slower that I pictured in my head. But to be honest, I think I’m recovering better that I thought I would. Initially I had a bunch of pain. And the vicodin really didn’t relieve the pain, it only helped me to sleep. What helped more than anything else is just taking it easy, not pushing myself to get back to a “normal” life.  That and an ice pack. 🙂

My follow-up visit is the 18th. I’m hoping I get cleared to resume normal activities. I’ve been wanting get on the treadmill and run. But for now it’s limited to short walks. Nothing hard. Just enough to maintain. What I have learned is how I can maintain my weight. Right before surgery I was around 220 pounds. Shortly after the surgery my weight went up to 223 .. almost 224. I was really getting depressed. So I started walking. Slow, purposeful, walking. And cut way back on sweets. I’m now 219 pounds. With about 90 minutes of walking a week and reduced sweets I have been able to trim down. But it I still have to exercise. That is the key.

So knowing that I need to exercise every week, I’m beginning to wonder if I need to start supplementing with Glucosamine and Chondrotin to protect my knees. The hernia is fixed so no more potential for injury there … and running is my main cardio … my knees and feet are the 2 other body parts I need to protect. Any ideas?

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

