Tired and frustrated

I am whipped. Physically tired. I started back on my exercise program and I feel it. I’ve lifted weights 3x in the last 7 days. Lighter weights more reps. But I have to tell you it’s harder than I thought it would be to get back into the routine. Both physically and mentally. I used to not think a thing about going to the Y and lifting or hitting the pavement with Shadow and running/walking. But this week has been a killer. I’ve stuck to it. And I’m whipped. Tonight is a run/walk night. Tomorrow is a lift and run/walk. I’ll do it. And I’ll have to make myself do it. I have to do it. I need to do it. I worked to hard to backslide now. I need to walk Shadow early and then get to bed early. Like 9pm! Tomorrow is breakfast with my accountability partner at 7am then the Y at 9:30. Then cut grass and start sorting out the frustrations …

The frustrations … I have a list of them. They are as follows:

  1. New Mac Xserve is not accepting mail, it sends it, the web server is fine, but I cannot for the life of me figure out postfix and why it is not allowing mail into the server.
  2. Garage clutter and mess
  3. Computer area clutter and mess
  4. Family room clutter and mess
  5. Yard clutter and mess

I got a new server to run my website and email services from. It’s a Mac Xserve with two 1.33GHz cpus, 2Gb of RAM and has four 180Gb Hard drives … and cool LEDs on the front. It’s my first true server. It was easy to setup and configure everything except mail. I’ve always had great success getting sendmail configured and mail services up on Linux. I tried once to use postfix but went right back to sendmail. I have to admit the Mac OS X setup tool was easy to use .. or so I thought. As of right now any mail being sent to my server is getting bounced with the following message:

PERM_FAILURE: SMTP Error (state 13): 554 <myid@myserver.com>: Relay access denied

And it’s driving me nuts. Postfix is supposed to be easier than sendmail. Thankfully I have a Yahoo! email account and I can use it. I sent everyone an email (from my server at home) stating that right now mail is down. If they needed to reach me hit my Yahoo! address.

The issue I have with this kind of problem is I obsess on it. I lock in and deal with it and don’t let go. I sat up Tuesday night until 2am trying to get it to work. I worked on it Wednesday for a couple hours. Yesterday I just read up on postfix and think I know where I screwed up. Now I need to rip out all the crap I put into it and start over. I don’t mind it really. I just wish I would have taken the time to read up front. My frustration factor would be much lower.

3 Comments

Filed under Journal

3 responses to “Tired and frustrated

  1. Got it all worked out. Web server is up. Mail is flowing both in and out. Now I can move on to other things .. 🙂

  2. Alicia

    If you find the cure for clutter, let me know! Actually, if you find the cure for clutter, set up that blind trust!

  3. The cure for clutter is called a trash can. Unfortunately I live with pack rats (myself included) who don’t know how to use one. I’m getting better. I finally pitched the college text books … and boxes I never unpacked since I moved in. No, I didn’t look in them. If I did chances are they’d still be in the garage.

Leave a Reply

