Summer is almost over

I really dislike this time of year. I think it goes back to when I was a kid. The last 3 weeks of summer were lived out to their fullest. There was this unexplainable urge to get up as early as possible and stay out as late as possible to stretch those last days out. And as an adult I still feel that way. I’m up early because of my job, but I always end up staying up late trying to get everything squeezed in. Which sucks come 4:30am the following morning. I’ve noticed that I’ve been trying to do more these last few days. I think it’s that end of summer push. I’ve been getting more done around the house, coaching soccer, running (yeah back to running) and lifting (yeah I can lift again). It’s a push to get everything in that I can … With summer winding down and the kids going back to school means we have about 5 or 6 more weeks of good pool weather. After that it’s time to close it down. And that’s work I dread …

But what I do love about this time of year is what it means is just a couple months away is my fall get-away with Wife. We usually take off for Gatlinburg in late October or early November. Just the 2 of us. A long weekend alone. No kids. No in-laws. No work. Just the two of us. A time to re-connect, reflect, plan, talk, relax and plenty of time to get-it-on. 😀 Okay ..you didn’t really need to know that last part, but there is something to be said for not having to worry about interruptions.

We usually try to so something new every year we go down. I thought about making a day trip to the Biltmore Estate in Asheville, NC. It’s about a 90 minute drive from Gatlinburg. Okay … that’s do-able. Then I saw the prices ….. $55 per person! And that is to do a self-guided tour. It doesn’t include the tour book or the narrated audio tour. If I buy them online I save $10 per person … so I’m still looking at $90. I looked at what it would cost to spend the night there … $959 for one night … so that’s out … We still might make the drive and do a tour … but I can think of lots to do with $90! Not to mention the cost of gas to drive there and back. And that $90 is provided we go on Thursday. Because on Fridays and Saturdays the price goes up to $60. To do that we would need to go down to Gatlinburg Wednesday after work. That would mean an extra night in the hotel. But then again .. it might be worth it .. 🙂  … let’s see … that’s $80 for the hotel, at least $30 in gas, $90 for the tickets … can’t count food because we were going to go down Thursday morning, I would have spent $$ on food anyway.  So for $200 I get another night alone with my wife. Maybe we should just go down Wednesday after work and I can giver her the $120 to shop with … that way I don’t have to spend 3 hours driving. Hmmm …  I guess I should look into what else is available to do in Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge to spend $120 on. Any ideas?

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

