I’m not as young as I thought I was

I’m 41. I’m a guy. I am a glutton for punishment. In January 2006 I set a goal to loose 50 pounds by December 31 2006. I didn’t make that goal. I was close! Since January 2006 I’ve lost 75 pounds now. I’ve done it through exercise, weight training and eating better. I am addicted to the workouts, running and exercise. And I push myself too much.

My youngest is playing SAY soccer. I am the coach. This is the first year I could really run and play with the team. And I do run and play every Tuesday and Thursday for 90 minutes with the team. It’s great exercise. But add to that “playing” my lifting on Tuesdays/Thursdays/Saturday. Then add in the fact that I am 41. The sum total is one really sore, really tired old man. At least that’s how I feel today.

I normally lift right after work, then eat dinner. Well yesterday I got out of work late. I got home and didn’t really have time to go lift, come home from the Y, eat and then go to soccer practice. Instead I ate, went to soccer practice then went to lift. How stupid can I get. Lifting like I did after all that running, kicking, throwing and jumping was fine. But I didn’t do what I normally do after the lifting. I didn’t walk or stretch or run when I got home. I plopped down on the couch. I thought I had a great day exercising. And I did. But I didn’t do anything to keep from getting sore like I knew I should. And I’m paying for it today. I feel like I’m 61. I’m sore from head to toe. Yes, even my toes hurt. I’ve re-learned an important lesson; Stretching and cool-down after lifting is just as important as doing so after running.

I’m getting forgetful in my old age ….

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

