Preparing for flu and cold season

It’s just around the corner. And from what our gubment says it’s gonna be bad. Get your flu shots! Get your Cold-Eze. Get your Vicks. Get your NyQuil. Get your Oscillococcinum (o-sill-cox-see-num .. try saying that ten times fast!). Stock up on your multi-vitamins and supplements. Be sure to get your face masks and latex gloves as well! Bird flu is coming (or so the neo-cons want us to believe).

Seriously though .. the best thing you can do to keep yourself and your loved ones safe this up coming cold and flu season is get in shape or least start exercising, eat better, get your rest and take a good multi-vitamin. And wash your hands! If you can’t do that carry around a bottle of Purell. It’s that simple. Statistically speaking, people who exercise regularly have fewer incidents of illness. By controlling exposure (washing) and boosting your immune system (vitamins, rest, better eating habits, and exercising) you can ward off most if not all cold and flu attacks.

Yes I said attacks. Our gubment has been warning us about it because they are about to infect us. Yeah, I know, conspiracy theory. I have to be honest, I don’t think our gubment is looking out for us. Our elected officials are looking out for the bottom line of the pharmaceutical giants and to line their own pockets with our monies. Our (the American) health care system is so screwed up it’s unreal. No, I have no idea how to fix it. Short of lining up all the doctors, lawyers, politicians and pharmaceutical bigwigs and shooting them, there is no easy fix. I read an article this weekend that stated that most if not all of the ailments Americans face could be treated with a better diet (proper nutrition) and exercise. I believe it’s true. Since I dropped 70 pounds I’ve not been sick, I’ve felt better, I feel like doing more. I eat better, I exercise and I don’t miss a day of vitamins.

So are you going to do it? Are you going to exercise? Are you going to take a brisk 30 minute walk every day (or do something that gets that heart rate up for 30 minutes), take your vitamins, get your rest and eat better? You should.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

