Stuck again

As some of you may know I have been on an incredible journey of losing weight. Last October I weighed in at 265 pounds. F55Currently I weigh 218. I’ve weighed 218 for 2 months. It’s not my goal weight, but perhaps it’s the weight for my body or should I say that’s the weight it wants to stay at. My target originally was 220 – 225 but it’s now 205 to 210.

I’m lifting. I’m running … I think I’ve tracked down the issue. I’ve been looking at the stats my Polar F55 gives me. My heart rate is not going as high as it used to. That means that even though I’m cranking out 20 miles a week on the treadmill or on the pavement, my heart is not working as hard as it used to. I’ve also noticed that my percent of calories burned coming from fat has dropped from 55% to 40% (averages). So I started to research what I can do to help speed up my metabolism again. And it looks like I have a few options.

Run harder – no .. I like my knees the way they are. Any faster than the 6mph and my knees and ankles hurt. Maybe I am wimping out here and not pushing, but to be honest I don’t see the benefit of pushing through that wall.

Carry weights while running – I use 3 pound weights already, 5 pound weights feel awkward. I thought about using ankle weights but I have the feeling it’ll be like running harder – hard on my knees and ankles.

Change the diet – This could be promising. I’ve found some new research that suggests that by varying my meal content around different meals my body doesn’t know when to expect what. Example: Breakfast currently is this; a protein and fiber shake with a bowl of oatmeal (fiber and carbs). Lunch is a salad with dressing and low-fat cheese, yogurt with Fiber One cereal (fiber and protein), 2 string cheese strips or 1.75 ounces of peanuts (fats and proteins) and a granola bar and maybe a Tootsie Roll. Dinner would be a 4 ounce serving of meat with as much steamed veggies as I can eat and a salad (I eat a bunch of salad every week) with no carbs). I might have a Jell-O pudding snack cup but nothing after 7:30pm. The theory is this … change that around and your body doesn’t know when to expect what kind of food so it is forced to burn fat for the different energy requirements. It basically resets the metabolic thermostat in your body to an always on position. Or so the theory goes … still looking into this one.

Interval Training –  This is what I’m going to be embracing and it feels like it might work. I started this week. I had to work out a routine on the treadmill that is goes something like this; warm-up for 4 minutes starting at 3mph and stepping up the speed .5mph every minute for the first 4 minutes .. that brings my speed up to 5mph which is a really fast walk/slow jog all at a 2% incline. Next 3 minutes the incline goes to 4% at 5mph. Then minute at 2% incline at 5.5mph. Then 3 minutes at 5% incline at 5.5mph. Drop the incline to 2 % and run at 6mph for a minute. Incline goes 6% for 3 minutes at 4.5mph. Drop the incline to 2% and run at 6.5mph for a minute. Incline goes to 7% and speed is 4mph for 3 minutes. Incline drops to 2% and I run at 6.5 for a minute again. Incline goes to 8% and speed is 3.5mph for 3 minutes and then step tihngs back down … total time is only 45 minutes and I get in 3 miles. The difference is my heart rate goes up and down. It keeps my body guessing and got my percentage of calories from fat back up to 55% the last two times I used it. Today will confirm it.

Take a weight-loss supplement – ROTFLMAO!! I have to admit that I was beginning to become discouraged. I almost fell victim to the diet pill scams that are out there. I was killing time in Wally-World and was in the Pharmacy area … and that’s when I started reading the labels on weight-loss supplements. And every one of them had pretty much the same disclaimer on them. “When used in conjunction with a sensible diet and exercise program ….”  and the clincher was this “These statements have not been evaluated by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA).” That is their out when you fail on their pill diet. There is no pill to start, maintain or accelerate weight-loss. You’ve heard them all say they can help. And maybe they can help you get the right mind-set, but I lost 70 pounds without them, so why start one now. And then I thought “but still …” then I looked at the prices and laughed! My God! People are paying $30, $40 and $50 a month on these products … do they realize that is a gym membership? I was shocked! I was thankful to have my Y membership and my treadmill. If you join a good gym chances are they have trainers on-site to get you started, keep you on track and push you when needed.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

