Home Alone

Wife has been taking her grandmother’s death pretty hard. We were always at grandma’s house. I took care of her yard and anything that needed repaired/maintained around the house. I made sure her drive was cleared of snow in the winter. Cleaned up the leaves in the fall. And Wife took care of grandma. Wife was always running her on errands and getting her to doctor appointments and making sure her meds were all in order. I’d say we were there 3 or 4 days a week. I know wife spoke with grandma 2, 3 or 4 times a day. So there is this huge chunk of her life missing.

Well Wife said this Christmas has seemed pretty empty and hollow to her without grandma. Wife’s mom and dad suggested getting away. So they did. Wife, D1, D2 and in-laws all left town Christmas morning at 7:30am. I spent Christmas day with Shadow. We have watched tons of TV programs I had DVR’d. We have leftover turkey and ham. We have some desserts and we run. I’ve gotten to spend quality time with Shadow. And I’m loving it.

I think this trip has done Wife good. The couple times I spoke with her she was laughing and having a good time. It’s been a while since I’ve heard her laugh. So I don’t mind being left home. I had to be left home because I had to work. I had originally scheduled the time off back in October, but with the lay-offs and the burnout my team has from the extra work, I let my team take the time off and gave up a couple vacation days (use ’em or loose ’em) to make sure we had coverage during the holidays. And to make things more exciting my boss is off and I get to be acting manager. Soooo let’s see .. everyone working this Christmas gets a raise! I wish …

Being home alone doesn’t bother me. Even during the holidays. I’m pretty happy with who I am as a person and I don’t mind being alone. Besides … that’s why I have a dog. A big dog. She’s great company. We talk, well I talk and she listens. And occasionally Shadow cocks her head to the side like she’s trying to understand. We even had a howl fest … wife and kids hate when we do it. Shadow and I have had time to howl. It’s hilarious. And when we finish we get some treats …

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

