I like to plan ahead …

I really do. I hate “winging” it. I like to know what I have to do and like to mapped it out. I like organization. But I will be the first to admit that if I am not diligent I can easily be swayed to the dark side of organized chaos. What that means is I can easily let things get messy, but I know exactly where things are.My house is being transformed before my eyes with organization and simplification. I want less stuff. The problem is with this remodeling of the house (painting and cleaning and what not) I had to rent a storage facility. Since renting it I’ve misplaced almost everything. 🙂 I know it’s over there in storage, but it’s not where I put it. Why? Because we had to move the contents of my storage locker from one place to another after just 2 months … the roof in my locker leaked. UGH! So with the help of family and friends we moved in less than an hour. The problem, even though the move was organized, and it looks better than it originally did, it’s no longer segregated like I had it .. my stuff .. kids’ stuff .. wife’s stuff grouped .. but not now. Oh well. I’ll figure it out.

In the midst of all this cleaning and organizing I decided to start planning my 20th anniversary. It’s not until next October. Talk about planning ahead. Initially I was going to try to keep it a surprise and tell her what to pack and when we are going, but after 18 years of experience I knew better. As soon as I had everything planned and ready I booked up everything I needed except airfare for April 2009. Yep! Six months early. The time of year is important where we are going. Last thing I want is to be in hurricane territory during hurricane season. Did you know you cannot book airfare more than 11 months in advance? I found out while planning this. So in my planner, May 15 says book airfare.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

