Rush – 2008

Rush came through Cincinnati last September. D2 and I saw them then. And we saw them last night. Great show! Always is. I have been disappointed in some of the visual imagery used in the past during songs. And I was prepared last fall for the same things I saw for their Vapor Trails tour. But this time round the imagery was better. Here’s the set list from last night’s show …

Video Intro (features all 3 band members)
Limelight
Digital Man
Ghost of a Chance
Mission
Freewill
The Main Monkey Business
The Larger Bowl (with Bob & Doug McKenzie)
Red Barchetta
The Trees
Between The Wheels
Dreamline
-Intermission-
Video Intro (What’s That Smell? All 3 members & Jerry Stiller)
Far Cry
Workin’ Them Angels
Armor And Sword
Spindrift
The Way The Wind Blows
Subdivisions
Natural Science
Witch Hunt
Malignant Narcissism
Drum Solo
Hope
The Spirit of Radio
2112: Overture / The Temples of Syrinx
Tom Sawyer (with the kids from South Park intro)
-Encore-
One Little Victory
A Passage to Bangkok
YYZ
Video Outro (Alex, Neil, Jerry Stiller)

By far the best show to date. But then again I say that every time I see them. πŸ™‚ There are very few bands I am willing to go see in concert. Rush is one of them. Neil really changed up the drum solo. Loved it. After 30+ years these guys are still going strong. But I’ll have to admit, they are looking older. They’ve aged well though. I hope when I get to be their age(s) I’ll have the energy they have to play around for 3+ hours. There are still several dates left for this tour, but I think it’s the last time I’ll see them until the next tour.

2 Comments

Filed under Journal

2 responses to “Rush – 2008

  1. I got to see rush… oh dear, about 17 years ago? Maybe a smidgen more? Loved it. πŸ™‚ Much better concert than the Cheap Trick one I attended later that same year.

  2. Rush puts on a great show. I’m glad they were the first show and second that my daughter has ever seen. I think she loves the stage show more than the music, although the ring tone on her phone for me is Tom Sawyer and she does have the latest CD on her iPod. Maybe she likes them more than I know … πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

