Vacation to remember part 2

Let’s see .. I left off with the brake job … I made it home from AutoZone at 8am. I completed the rear brakes by 8:30. Got my shower and we hit the road before 9am. By 9:20am we were stopping for breakfast and a bathroom break at Cracker Barrel in Mason … we didn’t even make it out of our county.

We had a crappy breakfast that took over an hour off our drive time!

Back on the road at 10:45am.

Pit-stop at a rest area just past Covington, KY. We had to stop at every rest area or gas station we could find … every 50 minutes for great grandpa to use a restroom. It turned a normal 5 1/2 hour trip into 8 1/2 hours.

To make matters worse there was an accident on I-40 that had traffic backed up onto I-640 … we were stuck in that for 90 minutes. AND that is when I found out I had to navigate across 4 lanes of bumper to bumper traffic to get to a gas station for yet another restroom visit. It was at this stop that I learned my brother-in-law decided to “surprise” us by showing up at our hotel with his 3 year old twins and 4 year old daughter. Needless to say it was not a pleasant surprise. Don’t get me wrong. I like my brother-in-law. I just have a hard time with his wife and his kids are unruly. There is no controlling them. And we had the “pleasure” of having them thrust upon us for 3 “fun filled” days of our vacation. I’m not kidding when I say they just dump them on us. We are left to entertain them .. forget disciplining them. They throw tantrums at the drop of a hat. This trip out of the traffic jam was a blessing because I talked with a local and got some back-road directions to get us into Sevierville from Knoxville

The plus side so far in this vacation .. it took almost 9 full hours to get there … 🙂  and that was 6 hours we didn’t have to see my B-I-L’s kids ….

1 Comment

Filed under Journal

One response to “Vacation to remember part 2

  1. Pingback: Vacation to remember part 4 « … PullYourHeadOutOfYer …

Leave a Reply

