Getting back on track

Last week on the 21st I wrote about my desire to get back on track with exercising. It’s been a week. How did I do?

  • I ran/walked/jogged 4 of the 7 days
  • I lifted weight 3 of the 7 days
  • I am coaching soccer and I practiced with my girls 3 times (the days I didn’t run/walk/jog)
  • My trip to Wal-Mart last Sunday didn’t include any junk foods (except ice cream and we know how that went!)
  • All meals have been planned out and include healthier options for me
  • Snacks included fresh fruits, nuts and Fiber One bars .. no cookies or Wheat Thins or pretzels

My weight is down 2.2 pounds for the week and the weight lifting is feeling “natural” again.

The running/walking/jogging is part of a program I did on my treadmill. It’s the “entry level” program I came up with to get my heart rate up into the the max heart rate zone based on my Polar Watch settings. I figure I need to do the program about 4 or 5 more times to get back into it then I can go to the HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) program I came up with for the treadmill. It’s 48 minutes long. It keeps my heart rate in the target zone for 30 minutes total. I run in the evening after dinner. I eat nothing after running. Why? “They” say that your body uses up the readily available energy in 30 minutes and starts converting fat to energy after that. By burning up all available fuel the body is forced to draw on fat to make it through to morning. So all the “repair” work and breathing and sleeping burns fat.

It’s been harder than I thought to stay on top of the new routine. I have to force it right now. I cannot afford to back-slide. Well I can, but I don’t want to.

I did set a target goal of 210 to 215. I’m currently at 223.2 after this week’s weigh-in (yes only once a week). So it looks like my changes are going well. I need to stick to them. The biggest battle is at the store. If I don’t bring it home it’s not a temptation. And I need to make myself lift every Monday, Wednesday and Friday to tone muscle and prevent muscle loss. And of course getting the cardio in on all the other days is vital to the weight loss plan. Once I hit my goal of 210 to 215 I will have to rethink and go into maintenance mode.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

