Training, sir.

Remember the movie Stripes? Bill Murray goes military? There’s a scene that comes to mind .. the platoon has been up all night training so they don’t fail BASIC.

General Barnicke: Where have you been soldier?
John Winger: Training, sir.
Soldiers: Training, sir.
General Barnicke: What kind of training?
John Winger: Army training, sir.
Soldiers: Army training, sir.
General Barnicke: Are you telling me that you men finished your training on your own?
John Winger: That’s a fact, Jack.
Soldiers: That’s a fact, Jack.

I spent last Wednesday through Friday in training for work. We are trying to “standardise” our company with rest of the IT world with ITIL v3 training. They are moving through the entire organisation (yes I am spelling words the way the Brits do for a reason). We cover all five of the ITIL Foundation training books in 3 days and then take a test on it. I had hours worth of homework (not to mention storm cleanup and soccer practice one night) each night.

This training is important when it comes to keeping my job. EVERYONE needs to be certified. Which means you have to pass the exam. We already had one member of our department fail. I don’t want to be the second. I studied my patootie (yes I had to find a way to work that word in) off.

I finished all of the storm cleanup I intend to do on Saturday. I had to take down 2 trees with damage at Wife’s grandparent’s home. Grandpa doesn’t trust anyone else to use a chainsaw on his trees except me. I guess he’s seen my work 🙂  He now has a ton of firewood for next winter. He’s 85 and was out there with me Saturday afternoon cutting and stacking firewood for 5 hours. I hope when I turn 85 I can get around the way he does!

So when my boss asks where I’ve been I am going to say “Training, sir.” and see if he gets the reference. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

