Boring …

I’ve not had much to say lately. Gold is not very interesting right now. It’s doing what is expected. $742 is not much to write about. It’s rather confusing. Based on what stocks, oil, demand and the the value of the dollar we should be seeing gold hanging around $925. I think the NGM are working to keep it low. But there is a high demand right now. There are waiting lists at some trading sites. Silver is sitting low as well. $10.15 is a great buy! And there is almost a 2 week wait for silver products. I have to keep recommending silver over gold right now. Eventually there will be a point when gold is the better buy but not for a while.

According to Senator Biden, who was speaking at a fundraiser in Seattle on Sunday (Oct 19th) night, said: “Mark my words, it will not be six months before the world tests Barack Obama like they did John Kennedy. The world is looking. We’re about to elect a brilliant 47-year-old senator president of the United States of America. Remember I said it standing here … we’re gonna have an international crisis, a generated crisis, to test the mettle of this guy.”  Hmmmmm ….. wonder what it will be? Perhaps the other economic shoe will drop. It’s a rather ominous forecast coming from Obama’s running mate …

I know it’s old news but I still find it entertaining .. who do you think won the debates? McCain or Obama? Some say the results were mixed. And I’m puzzled by that. They said the same thing during each of the debates. Almost word for word. Don’t believe me? Go here and listen carefully.

I ran across an interesting site over the weekend. It’s a site that goes over the predictions of George Washington (yes our first president) for our country. The site offers the predictions but no insight on them. I don’t even want to discuss the content of the rest of their site. It’s great fodder for conspiracy theorists. 🙂

Soccer is done. Basketball is starting. D2 made the team.

I’ve been thinking of getting an iPhone. It’s the coolest geeky toy!! Way geekier than having your own webserver and email server and a 10M DSL connection. I think the only thing geekier would be a DeLorean with a real Flux-capacitor, the Mr. Fusion and hover conversion upgrades. I pared back the current cell services to the bare minimum along with dropping the cable modem and the Setanta Sports channels. Saves me almost $110 a month so I can get the iPhone with it’s voice and data plan at $62+tax per month.

Yeah .. I know .. boring update. I guess I’m just focused on Wednesday. It’s my Friday this week. I am taking a 1/2 day vacation on Wednesday, all day Thursday and Friday. Wife and I are taking off Wednesday after she gets off from work. We are headed south for our anniversary. We’ll be back on Sunday. For the last 12 years we have gone away for our anniversary. At first to try and make things better, but now it’s a needed break from the rat-race. Kids are old enough that staying with grandma and grandpa isn’t an issue. Especially with D1 getting her driver license and having her own car. Nothing special mind you, just a 1992 Honda Civic DX hatchback. It has 225K miles on it and runs really well! It gets close to 32mpg! At least that’s what we’ve been logging in her milage book. If you are in Gatlinburg this weekend look for the really tall guy with a beard and Dayton Dragons’ ball cap (or a leather hat if it’s raining) and say hi!

2 Comments

Filed under Journal

2 responses to “Boring …

  1. Alicia

    Aww come on. You’ve got to be geeky enough to be able to make the iphone work with your current provider, right?

    Have fun in Gatlinburg! Next year, come to Tahoe!

  2. I’d love to .. but Verizon’s network won’t support the iPhone .. 😦

Leave a Reply

