Naughty or Nice?

It’s been a while. But I think I’m back.

I have been thinking about this whole naughty and nice thing since it is Christmas. I’ve been reflecting on this past year and tried to determine where I would land on the Naughty/Nice scale. I have come to the conclusion I am over all nice with an occasional naughty thrown in. 🙂

So where does this whole naughty/nice thing come from? Christianity? Yeah I think so … you know if you are an atheist or pagan and you “celebrate” the Christmas “thing” you are embracing Christian ideologies. The whole naughty/nice thing and getting a reward from St. Nicholas (now commonly referred to a Santa … miss spell it and we get … Satan?) for being good through the year. I think that’s is why Christians are so screwed up. They think getting the “reward” at the end of their life is based on how good they are. It’s not about that at all. It’s about your relationship with God and of course Jesus.

I’m not a Bible scholar. I don’t know much really other than what I read, study and learn from others. And what I’ve learned boils down to this; nothing I physically do will get me into heaven. No amount of good acts, not living a good life, not helping others. None of it matters. My passage has already been purchased and paid for in full. All I have to do is accept Jesus as my Lord and Savior and have a personal relationship with Him. It’s harder than it sounds. Think about all your friends. You act differently around each of them. Some you might go drinking with. Some you go to ball games with. Some you shop with. You do things differently around each of them. Now imagine Jesus as your friend. Imagine him by your side everywhere you go. You might find yourself trying to duck away. It’s hard to be “nice” all the time! At least it is for me. To be honest it’s only hard because I make it that way. I’m selfish. And being selfish leads to doing what’s “best” for me. And you would think that would be me pursuing a relationship with Jesus. But most of the time it’s what would benefit me now.

So stack it up, I did a bunch of nice things this year. I’ve been pleasant to almost everyone. I’ve made donations. Done charity work. All very nice and good things. But I’ve fallen short in the relations area and that’s where I will be spending my time and efforts this next year.

So what about you? Naughty? Nice?

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

